My typical morning…

An actual conversation with my kids this morning:

Zack: “I want milk”

Me: “Okay, here’s some milk”

Zack: “I don’t want the blue cup Daddy, I want it in the pumpkin cup.”(The cup with pumpkins on it)

Me: “Fine, here’s some milk in the pumpkin cup. Josh, you can have the milk I poured in the blue cup”

Josh: (crying) “I want pumpkin cup too!”

Me: “Okay, here’s some milk in the other pumpkin cup.” (I pour the milk into an identical second pumpkin cup)

Josh: (now screaming & crying) “No! I want pumpkin cup!” (Points to the cup Zack is drinking out of)

Me: “Zack, can you trade cups with your brother? I know they look the same, but he really wants the cup you have”

Zack: “But it’s MY pumpkin cup!”

*Both boys are now screaming and crying.*

Me: (trying to be patient) “I know that one is yours, but Josh would really like to trade with you. Could you be a good big brother and let him switch cups with you?”

Zack: hesitantly “Okay”

I swap cups and give each boy the milk that their brother was previously drinking out of. Josh takes a couple sips and finally stops crying.

Zack: “I want juice”

*Screaming starts again*

They're always so pleased with themselves when they've worn Dad down to a frazzle.

They’re always so pleased with themselves when they’ve worn Dad down to a frazzle.

Add me on Twitter!                      “Like” my page on Facebook!

2 thoughts on “My typical morning…

Leave a Reply

