Best laid plans…

It’s crazy how easy it is for even the best laid plans to go awry. This past week we had planned to have a glorious three day long weekend filled with completing “honey do” lists, watching the playoffs, and going out to dinner with the boys.

I realize now that we were tempting fate with our unbridled optimism.

Friday night I got to sleep early (well early for me anyways) in hopes that I would wake up bright eyed and bushy tailed ready to get a lot done. Saturday started off well enough, the only sign that things were amiss was when our little one Josh turned his nose up at eating anything for breakfast.

Josh "helping" clean the garage in Daddy's hat (before things went south)

Josh “helping” clean the garage in Daddy’s hat (before things went south)

As the day went on I tackled the garage, cleaning it out and creating a studio space where we can do future arts and craft projects. Kat kicked butt going through the piles of papers and filing them all accordingly. The boys had fun “helping” me in the garage (I’d planned to write a blog about this later), but as the day went on Josh got fussier and fussier. We had even talked about inviting my Mom and taking the boys out to dinner (IHOP or Izzy’s Pizza) but by evening Josh was just too cranky to deal with and Zack had started acting out of sorts too. Tired of being yelled at by our offspring, we decided for an early bedtime hopeful that they would feel better with some rest (again with the optimism).

This looks good now, just wait until it's spread all over the floor... yuck!

This looks good now, just wait until it’s spread all over the floor… yuck!

And that’s when it happened… the vomiting… and vomiting… and vomiting. Josh turned into some demon child launching the contents of his stomach all over his bedroom. While not as bad off as his little brother, Zack had a turn at getting sick too. Saturday night we spent debating whether or not to take our poor little guys into the ER.

I imagine it’s a debate that every parent has had with themselves time and time again. How sick is “too sick”? Under the circumstances he didn’t have a fever and seemed in good spirits so we opted for the watch and wait option. I stayed up until one in the morning with an eye on the baby monitor ever vigilant that our little guy didn’t wake up and start throwing up again (I also scored my personal best on Candy Crush). Jumping up at the slightest sign that anything might be wrong, we didn’t get much sleep. Thankfully though, the boys slept just fine, but the next day my wife and I were total zombies.

Josh was no longer the crankiest little butt-head this side of the Mississippi, but in his place we had a “snuggle monster” who refused to be less than an arm’s reach away. I have to admit, I did breathe a sigh of relief knowing that at least we’d get to watch the Hawks in the playoffs and not spend our day that the hospital, but our dreams of a super productive weekend had flown out the window.

A happier picture from a happier day, because quite frankly... when the kids are sick I'm not gonna be taking pictures. (and who wants to see that anyhow)

A happier picture from a happier day, because quite frankly… when the kids are sick I’m not gonna be taking pictures. (and who wants to see that anyhow)

One of the biggest adjustments I’ve had to make to my life since becoming a parent is learning that there are no certainties. Kids are ever unpredictable, so I’d better get used to rolling with the punches.

Unfortunately I’ve also learned that if one of the boys gets really sick, it’s a good bet that I’ll come down with the same bug about half a week later. But that’s a blog entry for another time.

One thought on “Best laid plans…

  1. I really appreciate your candor and the insight that this gives me into becoming a parent. I’ll have my own little rugrat in about 5 months – I’m absolutely thrilled, and so is my wife, but there’s certainly a little fear of the unknown. Thank you for posting! I’m looking forward to following and hope you will check my blog out as well.

Leave a Reply

