I best get to wrapping…

So it’s the night before the night before Christmas and our poor little tree has nary a present under it save for the one thing that our Nanny bought for the boys. Are we bad parents? No, disorganized maybe, but not “bad”.

There are still piles of stuff to be wrapped hiding in the garage that I just haven’t had a chance to get to yet. Granted, in my opinion we don’t have nearly enough big things for the kids to unwrap but, to put it mildly, this is one of those “lean” years. Thankfully Zack and Josh are at the ages where there isn’t really any one thing that they are dying to have. The two of them are just excited by the concept of “Christmas” and not overly concerned with materialism and getting as much loot as they can.

I don’t expect this to be the case next year, so I’d better enjoy it while it lasts.

So tonight as soon as I am done writing this, I’ll be heading straight out to the garage to do some strategic wrapping. What do I mean about “strategic” wrapping? That is when I just wrap the boxes and then tape a note on it telling me whats inside, and who it’s for. This way I can move onto the next one as fast as possible and leave the ribbons and bows until tomorrow when the boys will have a blast “helping” me finish the packages (oblivious to the fact that it’s their presents that they are wrapping).

I was going to ramble on and on about Christmas traditions and what I used to do with my father and the sort of things I hope I can do with my own boys, but I’ll spare any potential readers that for now (but I’m not making any promises). In the meantime I’d best get my little heinie out to that garage and gets to wrapping.

Leave a Reply

